Statin Misinformation: Mayo Clinic Radio



CrestorReviews

people have reviewed this drug
3 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
4.5 Stars
Posted 111 months ago (8/28/2009)

RatedCrestorfor AtherosclerosisReport

Taking Crestor after my heart attach in 2006 with good results lowering my cholesterol

Report
5 Stars
Posted 117 months ago (2/16/2009)

RatedCrestorfor High cholesterolReport

I tried Lipitor, then Zocor which I had muscle pain with both. Then I tried Crestor and had no problems. Taken it for 3 years now at 5MG. Lowered my reading to 130 and dropped my LDL within Doctors range. I reapplied for life ins and received super preferred rate. The best I could get.

Report
0.5 Stars
Posted 121 months ago (10/25/2008)

RatedCrestorfor High cholesterolReport

My doctor prescribed Crestor because I had my gall bladder out and had very inflammed bowels and went to the bathroom all the time. I took it in yellow powder form three times a day... (large doses) for several YEARS... gradually my legs became so sore I went to hospital. They said to just continue taking the drug. I did. My arms and legs puffed up and I could not breathe I went to emergency. The doctors told me just to lower the dosage. I tried and retured to emergency almost unconscious with pain. I JUST QUIT THE DRUG... now I am hurting constantly. No doctor seems to know how to fix this side effect.... I WAS HEALTHY before I took the drug..... except for the gall bladder removal side effect. DO NOT TAKE THIS DRUG>... the risk is not worth it.

Report
0.5 Stars
Posted 122 months ago (9/15/2008)

RatedCrestorfor HyperlipidemiaReport

I suffered a major depression of over a year until I realized it was this medication. I should have known -- had the same effect with lipitor; I have no pre-disposition to depression.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 141 months ago (2/8/2007)

RatedCrestorfor High cholesterolReport

First experience with statin I started with 10 mg Crestor/day, which reduced my total cholesterol from above 200 to about 130, but I felt weak and lethargic. --the drug? Who knows? My physician decreased the dose to 5 mg/day and my total cholesterol is now about 190. The ratio of HDL/LDL is better than before I started Crestor and I have less fatigue--such a subjective thing in winter!

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 142 months ago (1/24/2007)

RatedCrestorfor High cholesterolReport

so far so good so far I've seen my cholesterol drop significantly.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 145 months ago (10/20/2006)

RatedCrestorfor High cholesterolReport

yes this crester it works but I have a bad side affect 1.9 is the rating what it is doing to my liver still I am taking the same blood test each time I go back to him everything is fine. but the promblem I am facing here on this I am taking 10 miligrams a day a low dosage the lowest is 5 miligrams that is left on this drug I hope I can ask to take 5 when I can call or see him the next follow up is in Januray 07. and plus I have lost two siszes down on my waist where I weighed 192 now I weigh 153 lbs Iam 5 feet 6 is there anything else natural beside this I can take with out giving me night mares of my health what crester is doing to my liver this the only thing I want to know from any one. the Doctor is physian assitant which which goes by the term of Doctor

Report
3 Stars
Posted 151 months ago (4/12/2006)

RatedCrestorfor Diabetes Mellitus Type IIReport

More effective than other statins My By-pass (4) surgery was performed in 1987. I have been using statins ever since. Mevacor for 10 years, Zorcor breifly, Lipitor for 6 years and Crestor since 1997. Crestor has been the best in achieving target/s (Total Col. under 200)set by my Doctor. Side effects have been greater with Crestor than the earlier statins used, but side effect have been acceptable. Zetia (10mg) in the morning and Crestor (10 mg) at night has produced best results to date. Last two blood test since Oct. 2005 has produced average total col at 153 with LDL being 80 and HDL being 43.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 151 months ago (4/12/2006)

RatedCrestorfor High cholesterolReport

More effective than other statins My By-pass (4) surgery was performed in 1987. I have been using statins ever since. Mevacor for 10 years, Zorcor breifly, Lipitor for 6 years and Crestor since 1997. Crestor has been the best in achieving target/s (Total Col. under 200)set by my Doctor. Side effects have been greater with Crestor than the earlier statins used, but side effect have been acceptable. Zetia (10mg) in the morning and Crestor (10 mg) at night has produced best results to date. Last two blood test since Oct. 2005 has produced average total col at 153 with LDL being 80 and HDL being 43.

Report
2.5 Stars
Posted 152 months ago (3/14/2006)

RatedCrestorfor High cholesterolReport

It's still a Statin My doctor put these on this because the other statins gave me muscle pain and weakness, almost immediately. He said this one didn't go through the liver so it would be okay. (I've since read that it does, just not as much as some of the others.) It was better - about every 5 weeks, I would wake up confused and exhausted, with muscle pain and weakness. Plus a mild muscle ache constantly. Because the acute sessions were only periodic, not constant, my MD said it couldn't be the crestor. I finally refused to take it anymore. The chronic ache went away, as did the periodic acute attacks of muscle pain, weakness, and mental confusion. I'd say it was the crestor. It did reduce my LDL a bit - from 110 to 95, triglycerides from 80 to 72, but also reduced my HDL from 90 to 75. Now that I know more, I don't understand why my MD felt I needed to go on statins before trying diet and exercise....I don't think my numbers were that bad. I haven't been right since that first bad experience with Lipitor. I think some people (ME!) shouldn't take statins.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 153 months ago (2/9/2006)

RatedCrestorfor High cholesterolReport

Crestor Tried all other statins and suffered bad side effects. Crestor has no neg effects on me and lowers cholesterol by 50 % with very little attention to diet. This medication works very well for me.

Report
0.5 Stars
Posted 159 months ago (8/10/2005)

RatedCrestorfor High cholesterolReport

crestor side effects I have taken lipitor for a long time but decided to try crestor. Within days I had muscle soreness from my hips to the soles of my feet. This progressively got worse and I stopped the crestor. My syptoms got better in a few days. Pretty scary drug for me.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 165 months ago (3/3/2005)

RatedCrestorfor High cholesterolReport

Works for lowering LDL Has lowered my LDL and triglycerides to acceptable levels. Didn't do much for HDL. No side effects and my liver is fine so far, but I'm fairly young (34) and didn't have terribly high cholesterol to start with. Latest Lipid Profile 2/11/05 triglyceride 149 cholesterol 141 hdl 37 vldl 30 ldl 74 ldl/hdl ratio 2.0 ratio total chol/hdl 3.8 coronary risk factor = less than average risk Hepaptic Function Panel bilrubin, total 1.1 bilrubin, direct 0.2 alp 46 ast 29 alt 35 albumin 4.8 protein, total 7.2 normal

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 165 months ago (2/6/2005)

RatedCrestorfor High cholesterolReport

Beware of Crestor I had used Lipitor successfully for two years prior to taking Crestor. Two months of Crestor 10 mg., 1 per day and no side effects. Third month of Crestor I discovered that I was having intense pain in the major muscles, shuffling my feet and in general not feeling like myself. As a pilot this was very alarming and I quit Crestor, within 72 hours the pain lessened. Now 5 months after cessation I have intense pain in the shoulder areas, leg pain (right leg only), however not in the entire muscle as during taking the drug. It is now in the connective tissue area (tendons & ligaments) and does not appear to be improving. I would never recommend the drug since the side effects are either long term or permanent (I hope not). Comparing listed side effects of Lipitor and Crestor, without any question one should not leave Lipitor if they have no side effects. The death rate with Crestor is much higher than Lipitor according to what I have read and is the only statin that may destroy the kidneys. I was a very strong 200 lb. 6' male and have noticeable muscle lost in my biceps since starting with Crestor. The CK did not show a rise, however I know the loss exists. Some days I cannot lift my arms above my head, and a year ago could press more than 100 lbs. Use extreme caution if you are taking the drug.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 166 months ago (1/28/2005)

RatedCrestorfor High cholesterolReport

Great! Update: Before the update I had titled this review "So Far So Good, With One Reservation". The reservation was due to the fact that my HDL (which has always been good) had dropped about 10 points after my first lipids test following Crestor use (see original review below). But since then I've had another test, and the HDL is right back up there, while LDL is still great. And still no side effects! Crestor is working out great for me. Original review: Crestor is the third "statin" I've been on. It's also the first one that has had no discernable side effects at all. 40mg Pravachol gave me occasional mild thigh aches (not really a big deal) and didn't lower my LDL ("bad cholesterol" all that effectively. Lipitor 10mg lowered my LDL quite well, but besides giving me occasional mild thigh aches like Pravachol, it also worsened my glucose tolerance to some degree after a few weeks' usage (I know this was due to the Lipitor because the effect subsided after I stopped it, and then reappeared when I tried it again months later.) I've only had one cholesterol test since starting Crestor, and it seems to lower my LDL somewhat more than Lipitor. My "reservation" is that, despite claims Crestor increases HDL ("good cholesterol") somewhat, mine actually *dropped* to 50 after hovering between 56 and 66 during the four year preceding Crestor use. I'll be testing again soon to see if this pattern persists. It may have been an anomoly (I hope so, since I like Crestor), although my doctor says he has seen that happen in some other patients on Crestor (but he also thinks 50 is still pretty good). Some changes in my diet and physical activity could have something to do with it, too.

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 166 months ago (1/15/2005)

RatedCrestorfor High cholesterolReport

Muscle Twitching and Spasms I started getting muscle twitches and spasms within a couple days of therapy. I also felt a nice all-around "buff" feeling as if I'd been working out at the gym. After first I ignored the twitches, but they increased in frequency until they were occuring more than once per minute, all over my body, and around the clock (ever seen the sci-fi horror flick "The Fly"?). When I felt muscle pulling in my chest this scared the crap out of me!! I discontinued for fear of the known risk of muscle wasting with this and other statins. I tried SIX different drugs in the statin family (Zocor, Crestor, Lipitor, Prevachol, Lescol, lovastatin etc) and had the same symptoms. Finally switched to a different family of cholesterol reducers, called fibrates.I was able to reduce LDL by 39% in the first 3 months using Lofibra (fenofibrate), exercise, and plant stenols without the muscle twitching. Click on my Profile for more info. After several days on a statin, if you notice increased muscle twitching or unusual soreness in muscles that never were a problem before, immediately get a blood test called a CK level. CK stands for creatine kinase, an enzyme that leaks out of damaged muscle into the blood. When CK levels are elevated in the blood, it usually means muscle is being destroyed by some abnormal process.

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: Crestor It Could HArm You!!

Crestor Reviews
Crestor Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Crestor Reviews pictures

Crestor Reviews forecast
Crestor Reviews recommend photo

Crestor Reviews pics
Crestor Reviews images

Crestor Reviews Crestor Reviews new foto
Crestor Reviews new foto

picture Crestor Reviews
picture Crestor Reviews

Watch Crestor Reviews video
Watch Crestor Reviews video

Discussion on this topic: Crestor Reviews, crestor-reviews/
Forum on this topic: Crestor Reviews, crestor-reviews/ , crestor-reviews/

Related News


How to Find the IMEI or MEID Number on a Mobile Phone
OGX 3 fl. oz. Biotin and Collagen Shampoo
Todas estas bebidas son una buena alternativa al refresco
EAT CHIC: At Lunch with Naeem Khan
More U.S. Women Living Longer With Advanced Breast Cancer
How to Contact MSNBC News
How to Get a Good Work out with Punching Bag
11 More Romantic Engagement Photo Ideas
How to Roll Up Jeans
Migraines May Worsen as Menopause Approaches



Date: 10.12.2018, 19:48 / Views: 51264